Thursday, March 31, 2011

Man Booker International Prize 2011

Have you heard of the Man Booker International Prize?
The Man Booker International Prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language.
It was first awarded in 2005 and has been given every other year since then. Alice Munro won in 2009.

The 13 finalists for the 2011 Man Booker International Prize have been announced:

Wang Anyi (China)

John le Carré (UK)

(John le CarrĂ© remains on the list but has said, "I am enormously flattered to be named as a finalist of 2011 Man Booker International Prize. However I do not compete for literary prizes and have therefore asked for my name to be withdrawn.")

Amin Maalouf (Lebanon)

David Malouf (Australia)

Rohinton Mistry (India/Canada)

Marilynne Robinson (USA, above)

Philip Roth (USA, above)

Su Tong (China)

Anne Tyler (USA, above)

Read more here.

The winner will be announced on May 18th.
Related Posts with Thumbnails